Fabric shopping heaven

I’m between projects at present and thought I’d use the time to go visit Metro Fabrics in Tempe, Sydney.   My friend Kayla (who makes the stunning corsets at Corsetology Corsets) told me it was a great source for corsetry fabrics and notions, but I was also intrigued by their lingerie and swimwear supplies.

My first reaction was just “WOW”.   So many fabrics to choose from and an incredible amount of elastics, clasps, bra hooks, bones….I could go on forever!     Probably wouldn’t be my first choice for dressmaking fabrics, but a great big yes for the more obscure sewing that I do.

The only down side was the service.  Or, lack there of.   I would have thought that an interest in dressmaking, textiles or even customer service would be a prerequisite for working in a fabric store, but apparently not.   My advice if coming to this store is to not to wing it as I did, but to actually do your research before leaving home.   Know exactly what you want.  Then again, doing one’s research is never a bad thing.

So, what did I buy?   A whole pile of wide stretch elastic lace for making “cheeky cut” undies.   I usually pay around $15-$20 retail for a pair of these, but with what I bought today, I will be able to make them for about $2 each.   I also bought some floral lycra and swimwear lining and will attempt to make a 1950’s style bikini.    Assuming I am successful at these endeavours, the tutorials will follow before too long.   Stay tuned…..

IMG_1195

2 thoughts on “Fabric shopping heaven

Leave a Reply

