Corset #2 – Under Bust

After having a very successful attempt at my first corset, I’ve been bursting to try another corset in a different style.    I’d been debating different styles, but ultimately I found inspiration in the beautiful work and stunning fabric use at Lovely Rat’s Corsetry.  

The choice of fashion fabric for the outer layer was relatively easy – I’d previously fallen in love with the peacock colours in a particular patchwork fabric at a local patchwork store.   At the time, I knew that I didn’t want to use it for a quilt, so instead stored the fabric in my memory for use in a future project.   And this was going to be it.

I decided on an under bust style of corset with boning channels on the outside.    The pattern was an adaptation of my previous Laughing Moon over bust corset.   It took two mock-ups to get the fitting right – the main issue being the length of the corset.

I think the most trying part of the corset was in stitching the seams of the boning channels so that they’d be discretely hidden ‘in the ditch’ on the underside of the corset.   If my memory serves me correctly, all but one channel had to be readjusted in parts.    But I don’t regret the work – my perfectionist self would not have been happy with anything less.

IMG_4483 IMG_4482 IMG_4481

One thought on “Corset #2 – Under Bust

Leave a Reply

