Sewing Organiser

I recently pinned a pattern for this sewing organiser on my Pinterest account.    As my usual sewing is something like ‘sew seam – get up to find scissors – sew seam – get up to find unpicker – sew seam – really must do something about that little pile of pins heaping up’,  I thought that it may come in very useful to help keep me organised when sewing.  Oh, and it’s really pretty.

My usual approach is to see a pattern I like and try to duplicate it.  However, after a few recent failures of random projects, I decided to purchase this pattern from SundayGirlDesigns on Etsy.    And I was so glad I did – the pattern was easy to follow and saved me a lot of wrong turns.    My only suggestion would be for the pattern to include total fabric purchase at the start of the pattern as I was feeling a bit lazy about adding together all the fabric required for each different part of the project.

I only made a couple of edits to the pattern:

1. I couldn’t find iron-on batting so I used regular batting and had to baste the mat together.   3/4 of the way through basting, I seriously began to regret not hunting down the iron on.

2. The pattern calls for pre-made seam tape, but I just made my own bias binding from a fat quarter.

3. I found the thread basket hung open a bit far after construction – so I added a little elastic with a press-stud closure to hold it closed a little more.

4. I didn’t have any felt for the flowers, so I made them from contrast fabric instead.

Anyway, very happy with this little project.    Here’s to more organised sewing.sewing mat

Leave a Reply

